Atapi.sys problem

one.123

-0-;;
i made a thread awhile ago explaining my problem with stop errors..well i have more information on the error that i still have.

it is a stop error "driver_irql_not_less_or_equal (0x000000D1) and it either shows no driver or shows atapi.sys

i have a 120gb as my master, and a 160 as slave. i heard that you need an updated atapi.sys to run hdd's that are over 137gb. but i havent' had this problem until i moved to pci-express. i also heard that this kind of stop error could be associated with memory..i did run memtest+ overnight and it passed all of the tests, around eight times i think. i also reformatted already. the bsod usually appears when i run a game, it doesn't happen very often when im just using firefox or other applications, but it does happen. so does anyone know what could be causing this problem?

also what is the difference between raid, sata, and ide. would switching from ide to sata or raid solve this problem?

What operating system do you run and if XP do u have SP2 installed. I think they fixed the limit in SP2.

yea i have sp2. and i just read something about updated atapi.sys in sp2

Well SATA is a bit faster, you either need an adapter to use an IDE drive but there is zero advantages to that.

The best way would be to buy SATA drives from now on and slowly convert. Remember that unlike IDE its only 1 drive per port. So it you have 2 SATA ports on the computer then you can only have 2 SATA drives (unless you buy a PCI addon card).

question, have you installed the motherboard's drivers? Like the chipset and such?